Skip links


Functional Airspace Block

under Article 9a(1) of regulation (EC) No 550/2004, Member States had to implement Functional Airspace Blocks (FABs) by 4 December 2012.

Today this the only legal tool in the SES legislation in developing a Single European Sky (SES).

There are 10 FABs :

Baltic FABLithuania and Poland
Danish – Swedish FABDenmark and Sweden
North European FAB (NEFAB)Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Norway
FAB UK-IrelandUnited Kingdom and Ireland
FAB Europe Central (FABEC)Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland and EUROCONTROL Maastricht
FAB Central Europe (FAB-CE)Austria, Bosnia & HerzegovinaCroatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovak Republic and Slovenia
Danube FABBulgaria and Romania
South West FABPortugal and Spain
FAB Blue MEDCyprus, Greece, Italy and Malta. (AlbaniaEgypt and Tunisia, as associate partners. Kingdom of Jordan and Lebanon as observers

Professional Staff Organizations (PSO’s) have suggested alternatives.

ATCEUC and IFATCA proposed a project called MOSAIC, ETF a Co-op model.

Please find the IFATSEA focal points for the different FAB’s.